How Do I Change My Facebook URL?

I wanted to share a quick tip for those who didn’t know and as a point of reference for my Personal Branding Has Never Been More Important series. Claiming your own personal Facebook URL is easy, but beware… you can’t change it after you’ve picked something. Standard Facebook URL’s are quite cumbersome and are followed by a bunch of random letters and numbers, this is far from professional and quite difficult to communicate in print branding (ex: business card, resume, etc.). Remember, part of branding yourself is making it easy for people to find you.

How do I change my Facebook URL?
It’s simple! Log into your Facebook account and go to http://www.facebook.com/username. From this page you may change your Facebook URL to whatever you like and even select one for any pages you may have in the works (Edit: Unique page URL’s no longer require 25 fans).  I can’t stress the importance of being sure you match this with whatever it is you are selecting for your personal brand. Do your research first and find something that you can snatch up on all the major networks!

Good luck and if you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment and I’ll do my best to get back to you quickly. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “How Do I Change My Facebook URL?

  1. Pingback: Personal Branding Has Never Been More Important – Part 2 « Marketer Extraordinaire

  2. Great tip… Looking forward to that Part 3 of the personal branding series. I’m considering using the articles as a basis for a post on my blog as well, with proper credit/linkback of course. Keep ’em coming Joshua!

Leave a Reply

