Recommended Reading for Marketers – Week of 10/22/12 – 10/26/12

It appears that weeks when Apple announces something the publishing world shuts down in anticipation; I found it surprisingly difficult to find good reading this week. Of course, I didn’t write much either. If you had the same problem, try reading a few of the pieces I did find below. Enjoy!

(Infographic) The Fundamentals Of Online B2B Lead Generation – SocialMouths.com published a fantastic infographic provided by Unbounce this week with a strong focus on B2B lead generation. I don’t typically like infographics but this one caught my attention.

7 Things I Learned From Failing That You Can Avoid – I intended to write this piece for my blog here but felt it may bring more value to a larger audience. I submitted it to The Next Web and they published it on Monday for their Entrepreneur section. If you enjoy a candid read, this is for you.

Facebook Details Ad Biz During Earnings Call – While this begins as a boring piece offering nothing more than numbers, it paints a big picture for Facebook advertising. They moves they’re making show both that they are still trying to find the right formula, and also that they are proactively doing their research. While as a marketer I have trouble keeping track of it all, the good news for us small guys/gals is that they only roll out the good stuff after it’s validated.

Perspective: Sticky Situation – Ever wonder why certain 100-year old brands don’t step up the game and try something new? Here’s a perfect example of a well-known brand, ChapStick, that should have stuck with what worked. As a bonus lesson in the final few sentences, you’ll learn why deleting negativity on your Facebook page just inflames the situation.

2013 B2B Content Marketing Benchmarks, Budgets, and Trends – I’ve been waiting for this report and what a good week for it to come out! I’m excited to see that more B2B marketers are closing the gap with content marketing. I’m even more excited to see some of the spending trends taking place (ie. LinkedIn for social network of choice). If you’re in B2B, this is a great read.

Have a question? Disagree? Want to exchange pleasentries? Leave a comment below. As always, you can reach me on Twitter @joshuahays or by emailing me at hello@joshuahays.com

Leave a Reply

